Advice on how to create a portfolio?

I just switched majors from Computer Engineering into Communication, Media, and Design with a focus on graphic design. I was wondering if anyone had any tips on creating a portfolio? Should I create a website or maybe just create a collage of different projects I have worked on? Any advice would be helpful!

Parents
  • Hi Hannah!

I’m a UI/UX Designer here at Lenovo and have a Bachelor’s in Graphic Design. There are quite a few variables that go into making your portfolio, the biggest being the position you’re applying for. From my experience, what you want to show to potential employers is a thorough and well-developed design process. You usually start with a brief overview of the project that showcases the end result and then you continue on to really break down your design process from there. This way you can hook them with the eye-catching visuals at a glance but also have the substance to back it up if they choose to dive a bit deeper into a particular project. It is best to mainly show projects that relate to the position you’re applying for, so showing desktop/mobile site design for a UI Designer position or different branding projects if applying for a general Graphic Designer position. Although, it can still be a notable selling point to showcase 1 or 2 projects that display your knowledge of another field such as animation, coding, etc.